Placement Extended

23 08 2007

August 7, 2007

As this experience is coming to an end, a new one is emerging set with new challenges, new opportunities, new solutions and creating new relationships. This new placement takes me to places and provides me with opportunities that 2 years ago, I could only imagine that it was possible. As a result, it’s an opportunity and a placement that I couldn’t turn down.

My next placement is set in a country that has had a history of corruption, a waning government, an impeding energy crisis, a growing disparity between the ‘wealthy’ and the ‘poor’ and a different culture that would require new skills to engage and empower people to believe that change is possible.

The customs and language are not far from what I’ve already learned, the climate and geography are easy to acclimatize to and the people whom I’ll be working closely with, from what I hear are one of a kind development ‘champions’ if you may.

The biggest challenge that I have identified with my next placement is:

  1. Apathy – The majority of the population, from what I know is more on the apathetic side. I found that the citizens, although really warm and inviting, have a problem of being distracted from all the materials in life, having challenges focusing on issues that really matter, believing that they have a voice to call out for change.

  2. Balance – This is more of a personal challenge. Balance to the cause in the next chapter of this placement will be a little more challenging especially when faced with something as challenging and as difficult as apathy. Balancing my personal life with ways to overcome apathy, well, there seems to be a very fine line that separates the two. There’s also a lot of change occurring in my personal life with the post-secondary chapter of my life coming to a close end.

However, I’m excited for the next placement, being able to leverage what I have already learned as a Junior Fellow in Malawi and use it to the benefits for the next placement.

I suppose you’re feeling pretty anxious and sad that there’s a possibility that you will not be seeing me. However, I’ll be continuing this blog, documenting the joys and tribulations of volunteering in the next placement. Luckily for you though, my placement is in Calgary, Canada. Stay tuned for more updates.

Actions

Information

One response

27 08 2007
Rob

Good luck with your next placement Anne, it sounds like you’re going to a strange and desolate place.

Leave a Reply

